FAQ

La biobanque cardiovasculaire Courtois

CARDIOVASCULAIRE
Qu’est-ce que la maladie cardiaque?

La maladie cardiaque est toute condition qui affecte la structure et/ou la fonction du cœur. Il existe différents types de conditions. Certaines des conditions les plus courantes sont:

• Maladie des vaisseaux sanguins (connue sous le nom de maladie coronarienne)
• Maladie des valves (connue sous le nom de maladie valvulaire)
• Maladie du muscle cardiaque (connue sous le nom de cardiomyopathie)
• Problèmes de rythme cardiaque (connus sous le nom d’arythmies)
• Maladie cardiaque avec laquelle vous êtes né (connue sous le nom de maladie cardiaque congénitale).

Qu’est-ce qu’une crise cardiaque?

Un infarctus du myocarde, également appelé une crise cardiaque, survient lorsqu’un vaisseau sanguin est bloqué. La zone bloquée interrompt le flux sanguin et l’oxygène vers le muscle cardiaque de la zone affectée. Si le flux sanguin n’est pas rétabli rapidement, cette zone du muscle cardiaque peut être endommagée ou détruite.

Quels sont les exemples de facteurs de risque cardiovasculaire?

Il existe plusieurs exemples de facteurs de risque qui peuvent causer une maladie cardiaque et à un accident cérébral vasculaire.

Premièrement, il y a des facteurs de risque qui peuvent être contrôlés en modifiant simplement votre mode de vie et vos habitudes. Ces risques liés au mode de vie comprennent:

• Fumer
• Régime alimentaire malsain
• Stress
• Inactivité physique
• Consommation excessive d’alcool et de drogues
• Poids malsain

Deuxièmement, il y a des conditions médicales qui peuvent avoir été diagnostiquées et qui sont des facteurs de risque. Certaines de ces conditions comprennent:

• Taux de cholestérol élevé
• Hypertension artérielle
• Diabète
• Apnée du sommeil

Troisièmement, il existe des facteurs de risque qui ne peuvent pas être modifiés, tels que:

• Âge
• Sexe
• Antécédents familiaux et médicaux
• Ethnie

N’oubliez pas, la prévention est la clé pour réduire votre risque de développer une maladie cardiovasculaire. Soyez actif, adoptez une alimentation saine et ne fumez pas !

Qu’est-ce qu’un Accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC)?

Un AVC se produit lorsque les vaisseaux sanguins qui montent vers le cerveau sont bloqués ou rompus. Lorsque cela se produit, le cerveau ne peut pas recevoir le sang et l’oxygène dont il a besoin, et par conséquent, les cellules cérébrales meurent. La fibrillation auriculaire du cœur est un facteur de risque connu pour l’AVC.

Pourquoi la nutrition est-elle importante?

Notre nutrition est extrêmement importante car chaque repas que nous mangeons nous fournit les nutriments (par exemple, protéines, vitamines et minéraux) dont nous avons besoin pour survivre. Une alimentation saine augmente l’énergie, améliore notre humeur, contrôle notre poids et peut réduire le risque de certaines maladies.

Il est recommandé aux individus de suivre le «Guide alimentaire canadien – Bien manger». Ce guide vous permet de faire des choix alimentaires judicieux parmi les différents groupes alimentaires. Une alimentation équilibrée aide à nourrir votre corps, à profiter des activités que vous aimez, à accomplir les tâches quotidiennes et à atteindre une bonne santé globale.

https://guide-alimentaire.canada.ca/fr/

Suis-je en surpoids?

Pour déterminer si vous avez un poids corporel sain, votre médecin peut utiliser un calcul appelé indice de masse corporelle (IMC). L’objectif de l’IMC est d’utiliser votre poids et votre taille pour estimer la graisse corporelle.

Un IMC élevé est associé à un risque accru de maladies chroniques telles que les maladies cardiaques, l’hypertension et le diabète de type 2 chez les adultes. Si votre IMC est supérieur à 25, vous êtes probablement en surpoids, vous devriez donc apporter des changements à votre régime alimentaire et à votre routine d’exercice pour améliorer votre santé et réduire votre risque de maladie cardiaque.

Il est également important de noter que le calcul de l’IMC soit une bonne estimation de la graisse corporelle pour la plupart des gens, il présente certaines limitations. Par exemple, une personne très musclée et physiquement en forme peut avoir un IMC élevé en raison de la masse musculaire, ce qui serait une surestimation de la graisse corporelle.

COLLECTE DE DONNÉES
Combien de temps mon sang sera-t-il conservé?

Vos échantillons de sang seront conservés aussi longtemps que l’équipe de recherche continuera à mener des études de recherche. Ils seront conservés dans des congélateurs -80°C qui les maintiendront en bonne état, ce qui signifie que vos dérivés sanguins seront préservés et resteront intacts pendant de nombreuses années à venir.

Combien de temps mes données seront-elles conservées?

Les données seront conservées aussi longtemps que la recherche se poursuivra au CUSM.

Que signifie «conserver mes données sur un nuage»?

Conserver vos données «sur un nuage» signifie que toutes vos données d’étude dé-identifiées que nous collectons seront conservées en dehors du CUSM, sur un système de conservation, accessible via Internet. Les données sont entretenues, gérées, sauvegardées et mises à la disposition UNIQUEMENT des membres de notre équipe de recherche qui gèrent les données.

Vos données seront hébergées sur un nuage commercial situé à Montréal qui respecte toutes les exigences légales canadiennes en matière de protection des informations personnelles.

Quel est le but de ces bases de données scientifiques?

Une base de données scientifique est utilisée pour conserver et partager des informations de recherche. Afin d’accélérer la recherche et de valider de nouvelles découvertes, il est souvent utile que les chercheurs partagent des informations entre eux et comparent également les données d’autres études. En partageant des informations, les chercheurs peuvent en apprendre davantage sur la santé humaine et les maladies.

Pourquoi mesure-t-on ma taille?

Il a été prouvé que l’excès de graisse autour de votre taille (y compris votre ventre) peut augmenter le risque de maladie cardiaque. Même si vous avez un poids santé et que vous avez un peu de graisse autour de votre taille, cela peut augmenter votre risque d’hypertension, de cholestérol élevé, de maladie cardiaque et de diabète.

GLOSSAIRE
Qu’est-ce qu’une « biobanque »?

Notre biobanque est une collection d’échantillons biologiques (par exemple, sang/tissu), d’images médicales (par exemple, scan cardiaque) et d’informations médicales. Cette collection s’appelle la Biobanque Courtois cardiovasculaire et aidera à la recherche cardiovasculaire dans le future.

Qu’est-ce que l’ADN?

L’ADN signifie acide désoxyribonucléique.

L’ADN est une molécule qui contient toutes les informations génétiques transmissibles d’une génération à l’autre. Il fournit une série d’instructions qui détermine les caractéristiques uniques d’un individu, telles que la couleur des yeux ou le groupe sanguin. Pour l’objectif de cette biobanque, votre ADN sera obtenu à partir du sang.

Que sont les « gènes »?

Les gènes sont des segments d’ADN qui contiennent les informations nécessaires au fonctionnement du corps. Par exemple, ils donnent les instructions pour construire toutes les protéines qui font fonctionner notre corps. Les gènes portent des informations qui sont transmises aux générations futures, à vos enfants. Ils vous rendent essentiellement ce que vous êtes.

Qu’est-ce que «l’ARN»?

L’ARN signifie acide ribonucléique.

L’ARN est une molécule qui contient toutes les informations génétiques transmissibles d’une génération à l’autre. L’ARN est responsable de la transmission du message génétique de l’ADN à la partie d’une cellule qui fabrique les protéines. Pour l’objectif de cette biobanque, votre ARN sera obtenu à partir du sang.

Qu’est-ce que le microbiome?

Le corps est composé de bactéries, de champignons et de virus qui vivent sur et à l’intérieur du corps humain (par exemple, dans votre estomac, sur votre peau). Le microbiome est le matériel génétique de tous ces microbes.

Ces bactéries sont extrêmement importantes car elles nous aident à nous protéger contre les maladies, à renforcer notre immunité, à digérer les aliments, à produire certaines vitamines et à nous maintenir en bonne santé. Il sera étudié à travers un échantillon de selles et de salive.

Qu’est-ce qu’une IRM?

Un IRM, ou imagerie par résonance magnétique, est une méthode d’imagerie non invasive (sans aiguilles ni cathéters nécessaires) qui produira une image en 3D de votre corps sans radiation dommageable. Cette procédure peut produire une image de votre cœur, de vos artères carotides et de votre cerveau. Pour qu’un professionnel de la santé effectue cette analyse, vous devrez vous allonger à l’intérieur d’une grande machine, rester très immobile pour que l’image ne soit pas floue. Vous recevrez des écouteurs pour bloquer le son du scanner.

Qu’est-ce que la santé numérique?

La santé numérique est l’utilisation de dispositifs technologiques tels que votre montre sportive, qui peuvent être utilisés pour améliorer la prestation des soins de santé. Ces dispositifs, lorsqu’ils sont portés, peuvent collecter en continu des données telles que personnelles, physiques, environnementales ainsi que des schémas de sommeil. Les données compilées peuvent nous aider à comprendre l’effet de ces facteurs sur les maladies cardiovasculaires.

La santé numérique peut est utilisée pour aider à personnaliser la médecine. Les données collectées seront également conservées sur le nuage.

VOTRE PARTICIPATION
Pourquoi devrais-je participer?

Votre participation à cette étude nous aidera à développer de nouvelles façons de traiter les individus qui ont des maladies cardiaques ou à risque de les développer à l’avenir. L’avenir de la médecine, tel que nous le voyons, n’est pas de traiter la personne comme tout les autre ; au lieu de cela, nous espérons traiter chaque personne comme un individu unique avec une gestion personnalisée de la santé cardiovasculaire.

Recevrai-je des avantages immédiats?

L’objectif de cette étude de recherche est d’acquérir des connaissances et, grâce à ces connaissances, de développer des signatures pour aider les gens à l’avenir. Par conséquent, vous ne recevrez pas d’avantages immédiats de cette étude, mais vous pourriez bénéficier à long terme lorsque votre signature personnalisée sera définie. De plus, cette recherche profitera aux générations futures, ce qui peut inclure vos enfants ou petits-enfants.

Recevrai-je mes données?

Vous recevrez un vidéo de votre cœur et cerveau prise lors de votre IRM. Vous recevrez également votre score Interheart calculé qui vous catégorisera en tant que faible, moyen ou haut risque de développer une maladie cardiaque à l’avenir. Ce score vous sera communiqué au début de l’étude. Vous serez également informé de tout résultat incident critique rencontré lors des évaluations de recherche.

Comme il s’agit d’une étude de recherche, nous avons besoin de données de nombreux participants, tels que vous, afin de pouvoir effectuer notre analyse et d’identifier des signatures individuelles. Nous partagerons des informations lorsqu’elles seront disponibles.

Pourquoi les chercheurs voudraient-ils étudier mon sang?

Les chercheurs étudient souvent le sang de personnes atteintes de maladies médicales et les comparent à celui de personnes qui ne présentent pas la maladie. Les chercheurs utiliseront vos échantillons, ainsi que des échantillons de milliers d’autres patients, pour rechercher des moyens de prévenir, diagnostiquer et/ou traiter des problèmes de santé. Votre sang peut aider les chercheurs à faire des découvertes qui peuvent faire progresser la médecine et améliorer les traitements.

Que récolter-vous de mon sang?

À partir de votre échantillon de sang, nous pouvons extraire du plasma, du sérum, des cellules sanguines, de l’ADN et de l’ARN.

Que se passe-t-il si quelque chose de grave est trouvé?

Si, au cours de l’étude, votre examen d’IRM ou vos tests sanguins révèlent une préoccupation sérieuse mettant en jeu votre vie, vous et votre médecin traitant seront contactés par téléphone et informés de la découverte. Comme ces tests sont effectués dans le cadre d’une étude de recherche, votre médecin devra probablement répéter les tests en clinique ou à l’hôpital. Votre médecin recommandera ensuite la meilleure façon de gérer votre condition.

Education

Courtois Cardiovascular Biorepository

Cardiovascular
What is heart disease?

Heart disease is any condition which affects the structure and/or function of the heart. There are different types of conditions. Some of the more common conditions are:

  • disease of the blood vessels (known as coronary artery disease);
  • disease of the valves (known as valvular disease);
  • disease of the heart muscle (known as cardiomyopathy);
  • heart rhythm problems (known as arrhythmias); and
  • heart disease that you are born with (known as congenital heart disease).
What is a heart attack?

A myocardial infarction, also known as a heart attack, occurs when a blood vessel is blocked. The blocked area stops the flow of blood and oxygen to the heart muscle of the affected area. If the blood flow is not restored quickly, that area of the heart muscle can be damaged or destroyed.

What are examples of cardiovascular risk factors?

There are several examples of risk factors that lead to heart disease and stroke.

First, there are risk factors that can be controlled by simply changing your lifestyle and habits. These lifestyle risks include:

  • Smoking
  • Unhealthy diet
  • Stress
  • Physical inactivity
  • Excessive alcohol and drug use
  • Unhealthy weight

Second, there are medical conditions that you may have been diagnosed with that are risk factors. Some of these conditions include:

  • High cholesterol
  • High blood pressure
  • Diabetes
  • Sleep apnea

Third, there are risk factors that you cannot be changed, such as your:

  • Age
  • Sex
  • Family and medical history
  • Ethnicity

Remember, prevention is key to decreasing your risk of developing cardiovascular heart disease. Get or stay active, eat healthy, and do not smoke!

What is a stroke?

A stroke occurs when the blood vessels flowing up to the brain are blocked or ruptured. When this happens, the brain cannot get the blood and oxygen it needs and, consequently, brain cells die. Atrial fibrillation of the heart is a known risk factor for stroke.

Why is nutrition important?

Our nutrition is critical because every meal we eat provides us with the nutrients (e.g., proteins, vitamins and minerals) that we require to survive. A healthy diet increases energy and improves our mood. It also controls weight and can reduce the risk of certain diseases.

It is recommended that individuals follow “Canada’s Food Guide – Eating Well.” This guide allows you to make smart food choices from the different food groups. A well-balanced healthy diet helps fuel your body, enjoy the activities you love, complete everyday tasks and achieve overall good health.

https://food-guide.canada.ca

Am I overweight?

In order to determine if you are at a healthy body weight, your doctor may use a calculation known as the Body Mass Index (BMI). The goal of the BMI is to use your weight and height to estimate body fat.
A high BMI is associated with an increased risk for chronic diseases, such as heart disease, high blood pressure, and type 2 diabetes in adults. If your BMI is higher than 25, you are likely overweight, so you should make some changes to your diet and exercise routine to help improve your health and reduce your risk of heart disease.

It is also important to note that although the BMI calculation is a good estimate of body fat for most people, it does have some limitations. For example, a person who is very muscular and physically fit, may have a high BMI due to muscle mass, which would be an overestimate of body fat.

Lipoprotein(a) Information

I was told my lipoprotein(a) was high. What does this mean?

Although testing for lipoprotein(a) (Lp(a)) levels is now recommended in Canada since 2021, Lp(a) is not normally measured as part of a routine lipid profile and your doctor may have not previously requested this test, even if you have had your “cholesterol” checked in the past.

What is a lipoprotein?

In order to dissolve in the blood and allow their transport to cells, certain lipids (fats) combine with proteins. It is this association that constitutes the lipoprotein. There are several types of lipoproteins, each of which has a different function. HDL (“good” cholesterol), for example, helps control excess blood cholesterol, while LDL (“bad” cholesterol) is a waste product that also delivers some cholesterol to tissues. Lp(a)is a particle that is similar to LDL, but has a more complex structure.

What is the link between cardiovascular disease (CVD) and lipoprotein(a)?

It is well known that excess LDL is bad for cardiovascular health. It contributes to the buildup of plaque in our arteries (atherosclerosis) and can ultimately lead to a blockage causing a heart attack or stroke. Lp(a) is also one of the lipoproteins that can accelerate atherosclerosis and cause other heart diseases, including aortic stenosis (a disease affecting the aortic valve of the heart). In addition to LDL and other risk factors for heart disease (for example, cigarette smoking, high blood pressure, high blood sugar), Lp(a) is an independent cardiovascular risk factor. Several studies have demonstrated this link between Lp(a) and increased risk of cardiovascular disease.

Lifestyle habits (poor diet, weight gain, and low physical activity) can partly explain high cholesterol levels, but genetics also plays a big role. Some people simply produce more cholesterol than others. Unlike other forms of cholesterol, Lp(a) levels are determined predominantly by genetic factors and are not influenced by age, gender or lifestyle habits. Simply put, our genetics determine the levels of Lp(a) we live with. These levels are also stable throughout life, with a few exceptions.

What can I do to reduce my cardiovascular risk?

While LDL levels can be controlled through medication and lifestyle changes, this is not the case for Lp(a). However, reducing LDL levels, controlling other risk factors, as well as making heart healthy lifestyle choices can reduce the associated cardiovascular risk.

In short…

Each person is different and elevated Lp(a) levels must be put in context depending on their individual case. Also, bear in mind that a high Lp(a) level does not signal a diagnosis of cardiovascular disease or put you at imminent danger. It only indicates a higher risk than the population average of someone like you from developing cardiovascular disease in the future. It is important to remember that it is possible to reduce your risk by taking control of your lifestyle, instituting heart healthy habits and controlling your LDL levels and other risk factors such as blood pressure and blood sugar with medications, when necessary.

Knowing that your Lp(a) is high, might make you concerned about your health, which is a normal reaction for some people. However, consider this an opportunity to focus your efforts on leading a more healthy lifestyle and speaking to your doctor about ways to reduce your cardiovascular risk.

Here are some resources that can help you take control of your cardiovascular risk:

https://www.heartandstroke.ca/heart-disease/recovery-and-support/take-control

https://www.heartandstroke.ca/articles/healthy-meal-planning-toolkit

https://www.heartandstroke.ca/-/media/pdf-files/canada/meal-planning-toolkit/heart-and-stroke-meal-planning-toolkit.pdf?rev=28136383253f4fb28272b04b0ce488fc

https://www.heartandstroke.ca/articles/dont-let-slick-marketing-trick-you-at-the-grocery-store

https://www.heartandstroke.ca/healthy-living/stay-active

https://www.heartandstroke.ca/articles/15-tips-to-get-your-heart-pumping-every-day

DATA COLLECTION
How long will my blood be stored?

Your blood samples will be stored for as long as the research team continues to conduct research studies. The samples will be stored in -80°C freezers which will keep them in good condition, meaning that your blood derivatives will be preserved and remain intact for many years to come.

How long will my data be stored?

The data will be kept for as long as the research is ongoing at the McGill University Health Centre.

What does “storing my data on the cloud” mean?

Storing your data “on the cloud” means that all your de-identified study data that we collect will be kept and saved off-site (not at the MUHC), on a remote storage system, which is accessed via the internet. The data is maintained, managed, backed up and made available ONLY to our research team members who are responsible for managing the data.

Your data will be hosted in a commercial cloud located in Montreal, which follows all Canadian legal requirements in terms of personal information protection.

What is the goal of these scientific databases?

A scientific database is used to store and share research information. To speed up research and validate new discoveries, it is often helpful for researchers to share information among each other and to compare data from other studies. By sharing information, researchers can learn even more about human health and disease.

Why is my waist being measured?

It has been proven that excessive fat around your waist (which includes your belly) may put you at risk for heart disease. Even if you are a person with a healthy weight and carry some excess fat around your waist, this can increase your risk of high blood pressure, high cholesterol, heart disease and diabetes.

GLOSSARY
What is a “biorepository”?

Our biorepository is a collection of biological samples (e.g., blood/tissue) medical images (e.g., heart scans), and medical information. This collection is called the Courtois Cardiovascular Biorepository and will assist with future cardiovascular research.

What is “DNA”?

DNA stands for deoxyribonucleic acid.

DNA is a molecule that contains all the genetic information transmissible from one generation to the next. It provides a series of instructions that determines the unique characteristics of an individual, such as one’s eye colour or blood group. For the purpose of this biorepository, your DNA will be obtained from your blood sample.

What are “genes”?

Genes are segments of DNA that have the information required to make the body work. For example, they provide instructions to build all the proteins that make our body function. Genes carry information that is passed on to future generations e.g., your children. Genes essentially define who you are.

What is “RNA”?

RNA stands for ribonucleic acid.

RNA is a molecule that contains all the genetic information transmissible from one generation to the next. RNA is responsible for delivering DNA’s genetic message to the part of a cell that makes the proteins. For the purpose of this biorepository, your RNA will be obtained from blood.

What is microbiome?

The body is composed of bacteria, fungi and viruses that live on and inside the human body (e.g., in your stomach and on our skin). A microbiome is all the genetic material found in all these microbes.

These bacteria are extremely important as they help protect us against disease, help build our immunity, digest food, produce certain vitamins and keep us healthy. It will be studied through stool samples.

What is an MRI?

An MRI, or magnetic resonance imaging, is a non-invasive (meaning no needles or catheters required) imaging method that produces a 3-D image of your body without damaging radiation. This procedure can produce an image of your heart, carotid arteries and your brain. For a healthcare professional to perform this scan, you will need to lay down inside a large machine, remaining very still so that the image is not blurry. You will be given earphones to block out the sound of the scanner.

What is digital health?

Digital health is the use of technological devices such as your fitness watch, which can be used to improve healthcare delivery. These devices when worn can continuously collect data such as; personal, physical, environmental as well as sleep patterns. The compiled data can help us understand the effect of these factors on cardiovascular diseases.

Digital health is receiving a lot of attention and of growing interest to researchers. It is being used to assist with personalizing medicine. The data collected will also be stored on the cloud.

Your participation
Why should I participate?

Your participation in this study will help us develop new ways of managing and treating individuals with or at risk of developing heart conditions in the future. The future of medicine, as we see it, is not to treat the average person; instead, we hope to treat each person as a unique individual with personalized cardiovascular health management.

Will I receive immediate benefits?

The goal of this research study is to gain knowledge and, through this knowledge, develop signatures to help people in the future. Therefore, you will not receive immediate benefits from this study, but you may receive long term benefit when your research personalized signature is defined. In addition, this research will benefit future generations, which may include your children or grandchildren.

Will I get my data?

You will have access to a video of your heart and brain following the review of MRI scan, your calculated interheart score which categorizes you as; low, medium or high risk of developing heart disease in the future, and electrocardiogram (ECG) without interpretation, laboratory results and digital health data.

As this is a research study, we require data from many participants, such as yourself, in order to be able to perform our analysis and define individual signatures. We will share information when it becomes available.

Why would researchers want to study my blood?

Researchers often study the blood of people with a medical condition and compare it to the blood from people who do not have this condition. Researchers will use your samples, along with samples from thousands of other patients, to look for ways to prevent, diagnose, and/or treat health problems. Your blood can help researchers make discoveries that can advance medicine and improve treatments.

What will you get from my blood?

From your blood sample, we may extract plasma, serum, blood cells, DNA and RNA.

What if something bad is found?

If, during the study, your MRI scans or blood tests reveal a serious life-threatening concern, you and your treating physician will be contacted by phone and informed of the finding. As these tests are done as part of a research study, your doctor will need to repeat the test in clinic or hospital. Your physician will then recommend how to best manage the problem.